What I Learned at TEDxLSU Part One

Treosha TEDxLSU

I consider myself to be a sucker for a good TED talk so when I found out LSU was hosting one I knew that I had to physically be there and experience it. I first heard about the TED conference in the weirdest way. I was watching Kathy Griffin’s reality show (My Life on the D-List) and Rosie O’Donnell was on there talking about TED with great enthusiasm that I had to find out what this “TED” was. I did a search in google that led many TED talks, I told myself that if a TED event was ever hosted in Louisiana I would find a way to get there. eOne day in February I opened one of my emails and I see that TED was coming to Baton Rouge I immediately purchased my ticket and counted the days until the event.

On Saturday, March 9, 2013 I made my way on to LSU’s campus in search of the Reilly Theater after getting lost I eventually found my way to theater and saw the big TEDx sign in red letters. I went to check in and I realized that I was apart of something big happening in Baton Rouge. As I waited with a group of people to go inside I observed their excitement which caused my excitemehnt to build. I didn’t know what I was going to hear but I was anxious to hear it. As I walked into the theater I was deciding on should I tweet this event or give it my full undivided attention and write a blog about it later. Towards the end of the event I sent out one tweet which said “Can’t wait to blog about #TEDxLSU!”

I decided to blog about because I didn’t want the ideas to die I wanted to do my part by spreading them. The Curator for the event, Joey Watson, opened by saying a movement was happening so I just want to keep it going. This is what I learned at TEDxLSU:

1. Jacques Rodrigue, Executive Director of the George Rodrigue Foundation of the Arts, talked about the arts being an integral part of children’s education. This is not a radical idea because I begin to think about all the things that I was taught in school and most of the things I remember are connected to a art form. This is an easy idea to implement and I am glad that there are people in Louisiana who are advocates for the arts.

2. Zack Kopplin, Sophmore at Rice University, spoke about his fight for science. During his talk he said something that stuck with me throughout the whole event, “Don’t stand on the sidelines. Speak out.” He has taken on a cause that many have told him that he will not win but because he is passion about he is gearing up to fight again. He want Louisiana to be great and he is doing his part.

3. Zack Godshall, filmmaker, shared the best filmmaking advice he’s ever received, “Rid yourself of lofty aspirations, and just be vulnerable.” I was say that this is some of the best life advice I have heard. I’m taking his advice right now with this blog. Just writing what I feel not caring whether it is grammatical or politically correct. I am sharing my experience with you.

4. Camille Manning-Broom, Urban Planner, shared her decision to invest in some of the worst apartment complexes in the city. She shared her vision about the community she wanted to live in and she took the steps necessary to make it happen. I really enjoyed her story because I like to hear about people taking interest in Baton Rouge.

5. Dr. Gary Shaffer, Professor at Southeastern Louisiana University, had a very interesting title for his talk that will stay with me forever. “Take a Few Good Shit’s on America’s Delta” explored the idea of how a mixture of poop and cypress trees can save our wetlands. Our wetlands are declining at a rapid pace and we all need to do something to save them. According to Dr. Shaffer, an easy way to do that is to take a #2.

Part Two coming Friday.

One thought on “What I Learned at TEDxLSU Part One

  1. Pingback: What I Learned at TEDxLSU Part Two | True Blue Collaborations, LLC

Leave a Reply

